Thread: Chapter 1 - An Introduction

Chapter 1 - An Introduction

This forum was the product of chatter among several regulars at this site. The idea was to create a step-by-step build documentary for those who are interested in a Unique. As someone who has only a month into a Cobra build, I thought myself up to the challenge. Besides, this is great documentation for me and anyone else who may come along later.

Here's what I will be doing. Over the next week or two, I'll try to catch everybody up on what we have been doing. I'll post those things we learned, what we lauged at, and what we were frustrated with. For those reading, feel free to add comments, your input or suggestions, and ideas.

Now that the basics are accounted for, here is a bit about who you will be listening to. My name is Brian, and I am an engineer by schooling working for Kimberly-Clark in Neenah, WI. We are deep into Green Bay Packer country where the winters are long and the projects are numerous. Good thing, because I am one of those project type of people. There is nothing more enjoyable to me than completely immersing myself in whatever it is that I find myself doing. As you suspected, the project that is the subject of this build is a Unique 289 FIA, car 9129. Built in 1991 the car has an interesting history that will be the subject of the next chapter... I have always loved cars, and have long had a penchant for Cobras.

My partner in crime for the Cobra build is my dad. When I said above I was a project junkie, it is no doubt that I inherited this from my father. Already having built an airplane (real one and several flying models), a boat (we did this together a couple years back), and several train layouts, the car was just the logical progression. Dad has home movies of Cobras racing at Meadowdale near Chicago and was bitten long before me.