Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Air Cleaner Quandary

Air Cleaner Quandary

This is for any air cleaner or carborator experts. I've got this bad 396W Stroker with the Trick Flow heads and a Holly 750. I have a K & N 14" dia by 21/2" high air cleaner with a solid chrome top. I runs strong all way up to 6,000. I figured the more air the better so I bought a $85. K & N Xtreme Air Cleaner Top. When the motor reaches 4,000 it really starts to sputter and cough. Its really embarrassing when your running down the interstate next to a turbo Porsche. Could it be I need a bigger jet?

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but I can't believe changing filters would have that drastic of an affect on the fuel/air delivery. Maybe it is some other problem. If you put the old filter back in does it fix the problem?

John

I tend to agree with John, I would say their are other issues present. Re-jetting would not help that problem. I would pull my carburetor and pull the float bowls and check to see it the powervalve was loose or a jet had backed out. There are several things it could be really, even the sparkplugs. You will just have to isolate the problem, ignition, or fuel/air problem.

Rick

Did somebody swap out your MSD chip [8D]

Phil

427 Roadster, #4279436
    Southern Automotive FE
    3:31 and Toploader

Roseville (N.Cal)

You might also want to check your fuel filter. By the time you hit 4,000 rpm, you're eating gas at a pretty good clip and if your filter is dirty, you may start experiencing fuel starvation that wouldn't be evident at lower rpm's.

Ben
    Unique 427
    SA 427SO w/ Toploader
    Guardsman Blue w/ White Stripes

Well before you go and rip and tear into the carb, do like John said.... put the old top on the filter and try it agian.... although I don't think that a new top should make that much difference, at least eliminate it first.

Jim Harding
    La Plata, Maryland

1982 #3004