Thread: Figure this one out

Figure this one out

Check out this Autolite 45. Factor in that this engine is supercharged. It is the only plug of 8 that appears this way. The other seven are evenly lightly sooted due to a fairly rich mixture and mostly easy mid-winter runs. I switched back to the 45's for the season when colder driving conditions and short hops caused the Autolite AR33's to foul on a regular basis.

I've never seen a plug sooted only on 1/2 the insulator up to a horizontal edge line. The back has a mirror image soot-limit edge line at about 180 degrees around.

I have an idea but wanted to pose a mind teaser to the rest of the forum. Also I could be totally wrong and one of the members could bring this anomily to light.

-Geary
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Aggressor; March 8th, 2012 at 08:40 PM.

I'm no expert.... but this may be what they call Splash Fouling?

Below from some good web sites

Mark

Splashed fouling, Small islands of contaminants on the insulator indicate splash deposits. Replace with new plugs of the correct heat range. The use of fuel additives, carburetor and choke cleaners or other aggressive solvents before installing new plugs is the most common cause of this condition. This may sometimes occur after a long-delayed tune-up. Here, deposits accumulated after long periods of misfiring or low power operation may be suddenly loosened when normal combustion temperatures are restored after a set of new plugs has been installed. During a high-speed run, these materials shedding off the piston are thrown against the hot insulator surfaces
    427 S/C, Flame Yellow, B2 Motorsports 427ci Stroker Dart SBF, TKO600, 3.73 Posi, Avon tires and so much more.