PDA

View Full Version : 351 Windsor or Cleveland and why?

deanrr
February 24th, 2004, 12:32 PM
Hey guys I'm new to the Unique forum but have been cruisin CC for about 2 months. I'm in the early research phase and have almost been overwhelmed by the amount of experience and information available. I've finalized on going with the Unique kit, Clay once again thanks for your time, but need some power plant info. I will be in Arizona when it comes time and will driving mostly street, cruises and scenic club rides. My wife also wants to take her turn at the wheel but I still want that kick in the a$$ when I step on the gas.

So to my question, 351 Windsor or Cleveland and why? All opinions are welcome and appreciated.

Also who sells Uniques in AZ?

Brent
February 24th, 2004, 08:30 PM
Are you building a 289 car or a 427 car?

Brent

souzape
February 24th, 2004, 09:16 PM
Your engine choice boils down to a matter of personal preference. Windsors are currently much more plentiful with a very robust aftermarket presence. Clevelands had more performance potential in their day because of the canted valve design of the heads but they are becoming increasingly scarce and have relatively (to the windsors) little aftermarket support. Current Windsors with aftermarket heads and valve trains make lots of power. That being said, I built my car with a Cleveland (289 style) and have been very pleased with the results. I use mine very much the same as you plan to use yours. Beware of using the 4v heads if you choose to go the Cleveland route because they can be rather balky in the low RPM ranges. My engine uses a set of "prepped" 2v heads which give great low end response and supposedly produces about 425 advertised HP which I don't doubt in the slightest. Your car will probably weigh arouned 2200-2400 lbs when completed which offers it a very respectable HP/LB factor with that kind of power.