PDA

View Full Version : Runnig too rich

clinck
March 27th, 2004, 11:14 AM
Okay Gearheads...hep me out.

I got Jeff's car yesterday and have logged a few miles. Initially the car would not idle so I advanced the idel screw and brought her up to 1000 rpm. Now she is running rich.You know, burn your eyes rich. I am not a mechanic but would like to learn how to solve this myself. Do I need to re-jet the carb. Arizona is dry with little humidity. The car came from Wisconsin. They have more moisture. Does that have anything to do with this running rich situation.
I know that carburators are sensitive to barometric pressure, humidity and elevation. I live in the desert with average 12% humidity and we are at 1100 feet sea level.
I guess I could take it to my speed shop and they will charge me who knows how much for a tune up and a possible re-jetting of the carb. I've never excaped without a $400.00 bill from them.
Is there a more reasonable answer?

Regards,

Sundown

pgermond
March 27th, 2004, 11:44 AM
There are a number of things that can cause this.... jets, yes, but probably something a lot simpler. Is the choke sticking/working? Not knowing what you have for carburetion leaves a lot of unanaswered questions. Octane/timing................?

Phil

427 Roadster, #4279436
Southern Automotive FE
3:31 and Toploader

Roseville (N.Cal)

clinck
March 27th, 2004, 11:59 AM
Good ole Phil...

There is no choke on this Biggs carb... I don't have a timing line and furthermore I don't know how to use one. I have seen the process over the shoulder of maechanics and I know that advancing or retarding the timing is done by rotating the distributor. Beyond that I am lost.
Sorry to be such a dummy. I got kicked out of shop at 14 years old and never learned the basics. I guess I'm doomed to the speed shops..

Regards

Sundown

GeorgiaSnake
March 27th, 2004, 09:10 PM