PDA

View Full Version : Carb problems

homer
April 3rd, 2004, 07:34 AM
Need some help -- have a holly 750 that was working quite well until today but had a habit of backfiring through the carburator on cold starts. Engine would stall and a smoke cloud would puff out of the carb. Today the engine would sputter under acceleration and even while standing still while revving. Tried some carb cleaner which seemed to help a bit. Have to admit I am a novice in this area but have tried to research what the problem may be -- timing, power valve, possibly condensation??? Any help would be great.

pbrown
April 3rd, 2004, 10:43 AM
Your initial timing is probably off or you have a problem with your distributer. This may have blown a power valve in the carb due to the back firing problem.

--Patrick

homer
April 3rd, 2004, 11:38 AM
What is the best way to identify the cause of the problem -- prior to today the engine ran great no issues with sputtering while underway.

Brent
April 4th, 2004, 01:57 AM
So many things could cause this.

Check the easy stuff first. Timing could be slow, is the dist. tight? Pull the valve covers and check the valve lash you could have a problem in the valvetrain causing a backfire. Then check the timing and see what the initial timing is first, then see how the mark acts when slowly increasing rpm (does it jump and bounce around or act smooth)If it acts rough check the dist. adv. mech. Does it total where you want it? Then check the plugs and see if you find one that is suspicous. A blown power valve will cause a motor to be very rich and emit black smoke but will not usually cause a backfire throught the carb.If the intake gasket lost seal or had a seal get sucked in you could have a very lean cylinder causing the problem. With the motor running spray carb cleaner around the gasket area on both sides and see if the motor reacts to it. If the motor rpm increases, that cylinder is leaking and you just found it.
What ignition system are you running?