PDA

View Full Version : 302/5.0 distributor seizing

JeepSnake
November 30th, 2004, 07:35 PM
Hey y'all!

This is my first time posting, so I hope that I get everything correct on how this works. For those of you I haven't met in person, I'm Will & Joan Butterworth's older son and sometimes emergency mechanic. This brings me to the trouble we've been encountering with their smallblock; I think that Ralph mentioned in another topic what happened, but I'll go into more detail here.

Engine in Mom & Dad's 427 is a 5.0 liter from a 1992 Mustang. The engine had 16,000 miles on it when we removed it from the donor. The long block is completely stock '92 HO - no cam change, no oil pump change, nothing in the heads or bottom end. We simply removed the fuel injection unit and replaced it with an Edelbrock Performer intake and carb. For the ignition, we used a stock-rebuilt Ford Duraspark II system bought from Autozone. The only modification we made to it was replacing the iron gear with a bronze one to protect the cam gear. This combination worked smoothly for 2 years (about 6000 miles).

Then, in September, on the annual Pigeon Forge trip, the distributor seized up and sheared the bronze gear teeth. I mean the distributor shaft literally seized in the distributor housing so tightly that we could barely turn it by hand upon removal from the engine. So, we yanked an identical Duraspark distributor from my brother's '66 Mustang (again, probably 6,000 miles on this distributor), stuck a new bronze gear on it, and installed it in the Cobra to get it running again. Of course, our assumption at the time regarding the seized distributor was "a cheap rebuild."