PDA

View Full Version : Spec'ing limited slip differential...

Unique 289_FIA
April 3rd, 2007, 10:00 AM
I would like to add a limited slip to the Jag rear end. I am considering the Auburn, but I have questions on the proper spec. I know it's a Dana 44, but is it w/ or w/o C-clips? What does that refer to? 30-spline is correct? Why does the gear ratio matter (3.92-up or 3.71-down)?

Would this be a correct model: http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product2_10001_10002_744538_-1

Model: 109-5420109

I have no experience working on rear ends, but have built a few motors and rebuilt the 3550 tranny and generally know my way around a car. Is this something I can install myself or should I leave it to someone with more experience? I understand that the lash has to be set just right (?).

Thanks, guys!

Robert

JeepSnake
April 3rd, 2007, 01:34 PM
Robert, I can't tell you much about the Jag rearend, but on any differential, the gearset ratio matters because of the carrier size. I can't remember which direction it goes in relation to numerical ratios, but you have to get the right gear mesh between the pinion & ring gears. As you change gear ratios, that spacing changes, and the manufacturers cover it with usually two different carrier sizes.

In the aftermarket, you'll see thicker ring gears and ring gear to carrier shims to allow you to put gears onto a carrier the factory never meant for them to be on. There are a lot of opinions on these practices: thicker gears run too hot, longer ring gear bolts let the gear wiggle around, longer bolts are apt to shear, etc. etc.

The carrier ratio "breaks" for a couple I remember from Jeeping...
AMC 20: had one carrier for 3.07 and higher (numerically) gears, another carrier for 2.73 gears only
Dana 30: had one carrier for 2.73 - 3.54, and one for 3.73 and higher

Want to smoke your Cobra tires worse than you already can? Stick some 5.38's in there! (A standard Jeep Dana 44 ratio for years & years.)