PDA

View Full Version : Toploader no shift

RonJ
September 5th, 2008, 01:05 PM
It looks like I get to learn about the toploader now. I was out the other night and began to have a difficult time getting it to shift.It was getting late and I had to get my son home from football practice. By the way the Cobra is a big hit amoungst the the team..lol..I took it back out this afternoon to see what was going on. Shifting became harder and harder until it got to the point where I drove the last couple of miles home in 3rd. I had to push it into the barn because I couldn't get it to go into any gear at all! I'm thinking it may be linkage related but I'm not a toploader expert by any strestch of the imagination. Reckon I'll find out when I get time to look at her which hopefully will be Sunday. If anybody has had this issue happen to them I certainly would appreciate any insight you may have to offer.[thumb]

brfutbrian
September 5th, 2008, 02:48 PM
i had that happen to me early on with my car. it was just loose bolts where the handle bolts to the shifter. you probably have a similar problem . later, brian.

Naumoff
September 6th, 2008, 02:18 AM
Is your trans stuck in third or is it that you can't shift it because the clutch won't disengage?
I had an issue with the shifter jamming up. If you jack the car up and put it on jackstands.
Get under the car a put the trans in neutral by the linkage then see if the shifter works.

My shifter does not like to be jiggled or stirred as there is no slop in it. Neutral is a straight side to side movement.
Wife thought it was like our old Jeep with a wore out T-18. You could make a 4 inch circular movement when it was in neutral, even when in gear you could move the shifter around about 2 inches.:D

RonJ
September 6th, 2008, 09:01 AM